Skip to content

Conservation area no.29 - Stroud Industrial Heritage (*adopted CAS)

In this section

  1. Conservation Areas in Stroud District
  2. Article 4 Directions in Conservation Areas
  3. Conservation area no.1 - Wotton Under Edge (*adopted CAS)
  4. Conservation area no.2 - Amberley
  5. Conservation area no.3 - Box
  6. Conservation area no.4 - Minchinhampton
  7. Conservation area no.5 - Berkeley
  8. Conservation area no.6 - Bisley (*adopted CAS)
  9. Conservation area no.7 - Frampton on Severn (*adopted CAS)
  10. Conservation area no.8 - Kingswood (*adopted CAS)
  11. Conservation area no.9 - Alderley
  12. Conservation area no.10 - South Woodchester
  13. Conservation area no.11 - Miserden
  14. Conservation area no.12 - Pitchcombe
  15. Conservation area no.13 - Painswick
  16. Conservation area no.14 - Nympsfield
  17. Conservation area no.15 - Stinchcombe
  18. Conservation area no.16 - Stroud Top of the Town (*adopted CAS)
  19. Conservation area no.17 - Stroud Town Centre (*adopted CAS)
  20. Conservation area no.19 - Chalford Hill
  21. Conservation area no.20 - Chalford Vale
  22. Conservation area no.21 - Dunkirk Mills and Watledge (*adopted CAS)
  23. Conservation area no.22 - Ebley Mills (*adopted CAS)
  24. Conservation area no.23 - France Lynch
  25. Conservation area no.24 - Lodgemore and Fromehall Mills (*adopted CAS)
  26. Conservation area no.25 - Longfords Mills (*adopted CAS)
  27. Conservation area no.26 - Stanley Mills (*adopted CAS)
  28. Conservation area no.27 - St Mary's and Belvedere Mills (*adopted CAS)
  29. Conservation area no.28 - Stroud Station (*adopted CAS)
  30. Conservation area no.29 - Stroud Industrial Heritage (*adopted CAS)
  31. Conservation area no.30 - Uley
  32. Conservation area no.31 - Nailsworth
  33. Conservation area no.32 - Dursley
  34. Conservation area no.33 - Woodmancote
  35. Conservation area no.34 - Stratford Park (*adopted CAS)
  36. Conservation area no.35 - Gyde House
  37. Conservation area no.36 - Randwick
  38. Conservation area no.37 - Sharpness Old Dock
  39. Conservation area no.38 - Eastcombe
  40. Conservation area no.39 - Saul
  41. Conservation area no.40 - Bussage and Brownshill
  42. Conservation area no.41 - Sheepscombe
  43. Conservation area no.42 - Arlingham

The Industrial Heritage Conservation Area ("IHCA") was first designated in September 1987. It has been extended at several points since the original designation and it was subject to a comprehensive review between 2006-8, resulting in numerous boundary changes and the adoption of a Conservation Area Statement (CAS) and a Design Guide as Supplementary Planning Advice (SPA) in November 2008.

The Stroud Industrial Heritage CAS

These documents apply to the Industrial Heritage Conservation Area (IHCA) and to seven other conservation areas, which together form the swathe of protected land associated with the Stroud valleys’ historic industrial environment:

  • No.21 - Dunkirk & Watledge CA
  • No.22 - Ebley Mills CA
  • No.24 - Lodgemore & Fromehall CA
  • No.25 - Longfords Mills CA
  • No.26 - Stanley Mills CA
  • No.27 - St Mary's & Belvedere CA
  • No.28 - Stroud Station CA

The Conservation Area Statement contains information about the character and special significance of the affected conservation areas. Along with the Design Guide, it also provides guidelines and management proposals for the conservation and enhancement of the conservation area, which are used to guide the interpretation and application of Development Plan policies, including Local Plan policy ES10.

Conservation Area Statement - Volume 1: Summary and Character Overview

Volume 1 of the Conservation Area Statement was adopted as Supplementary Planning Advice (SPA) in November 2008. It provides an overview of the IHCA's key characteristics and summarises its special architectural and historic significance.

Volume 1: Summary and overview

Conservation Area Statement - Volume 2: Character Parts

Volume 2 of the Conservation Area Statement was adopted as Supplementary Planning Advice (SPA) in November 2008. It identifies 'sub areas' within the conservation area which have distinct characteristics.

Volume 2: Character Parts


The IHCA Conservation Area Management Proposals SPD

This volume was adopted as Supplementary Planning Document (SPD) in November 2008 and forms part of the Development Plan for Stroud District. It is used to help guide and apply Local Plan policies in relation to development in the IHCA and the six other affected conservation areas.

Conservation Area Management Proposals SPD


The Stroud Industrial Heritage Design Guide (SPA)

The IHCA Design Guide provides complementary guidance to back up the Management Proposals SPD, based on the character analysis contained in Volumes 1 and 2.

IHCA Design Guide

The 2008 review included boundary changes to the IHCA and several of the other affected conservation areas. You can check the current conservation area boundaries by using the Local Plan online mapping facility or Planning Constraints maps:

View current conservation area boundaries 


No.21 - Dunkirk & Watledge CA    No.22 - Ebley Mills CA     No.24 - Lodgemore & Fromehall CA    No.25 - Longfords Mills CA    No.26 - Stanley Mills CA    No.27 - St Mary's & Belvedere CA     No.28 - Stroud Station CA


Last reviewed: