Skip to content

Leaders are in place for the forthcoming year at Stroud District Council

Published: Tuesday, 21 May, 2019

Committee chairs and vice-chairs are now set for the civic year after the SDC Annual General Meeting, held on Thursday evening.

These councillors will serve in the following posts in 2019/20:

Chair of Council: Gary Powell (Labour & Co-operative).

Vice Chair of Council: Steve Robinson (Labour).

Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs:

Audit and Standards Committee: Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (Conservative No Group), Tom Williams (Labour).

Community Services and Licensing Committee:  Mattie Ross (Labour & Co-operative), Jonathan Edmunds (Green).

Development Control Committee: Martin Baxendale (Green), Miranda Clifton (Labour).

Environment Committee: Simon Pickering (Green), George Butcher (Liberal Democrat).

Housing Committee: Chas Townley (Labour & Co-operative), Jenny Miles (Labour).

Strategy and Resources Committee: Doina Cornell (Labour), Martin Whiteside (Green). Councillor Cornell is Leader of Stroud District Council.

Lead councillors and substitute councillors on outside bodies:

Health and Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee: Steve Lydon (Labour) and Steve Robinson.

Police and Crime Panel: Mattie Ross and Chas Townley.

Gloucestershire Economic Growth Scrutiny Committee: Jim Dewey (Green) and Martin Whiteside.

Mental Health Champions Tom Skinner (Conservative), Tom Williams and Jim Dewey.

All were elected unopposed. The council is run by an administration of Labour, Green and Liberal Democrat elected councillors. Each ruling administration group is led by Councillor Cornell, Councillor Whiteside and Councillor Ken Tucker (Liberal Democrat). The opposition Conservative group is led by Councillor Stephen Davies.

News archive

Share this page