Skip to content

History in the making – this is how Stroud district could change in the coming years

Published: Wednesday, 20 February, 2019

New development and population growth means some village boundaries could change – and a new parish could be created as well.

History could be made if Hunts Grove becomes the first new parish to be drawn on the Stroud District Council map since 1990.

Stroud District Council has launched its second public consultation in response to its publication of the Draft Recommendations on the 18 February 2019, and creation of Hunts Grove Parish Council is one of them.

A Community Governance Review is the process which allows the Council to make changes to parishes, such as boundaries and the numbers of parish councillors or the creation of a new council.

"Between September and November 2018 we asked the public for its views on the current parish/town council arrangements within the district and whether you would recommend any changes to these arrangements,” said Elections Manager Hannah Emery. “We considered these, and views from existing parish/town councils, as well as a range of demographic and other information."

This information was used to prepare draft proposals which can be viewed here. A paper copy can also be viewed at the Stroud District Council Offices, Ebley Mill, Ebley Wharf, Stroud, GL5 4UB.

A summary of the proposed changes is below:

Brimscombe and Thrupp Parish Council (Stroud (Trinity Ward) Town Council)

  • The boundary of the Parish of Brimscombe and Thrupp be redrawn where it adjoins the Town of Stroud (Trinity Ward) to transfer the properties in Gunhouse Lane to the Parish of Brimscombe and Thrupp

Cainscross Parish Council (and Stonehouse Town Council)

  • Stonehouse (Ebley Ward) is transferred to Cainscross and merged with Cainscross Ebley Ward so that the District ward and parish boundaries are coterminous (shown on the map below)
  • The number of Parish Councillors is increased to thirteen

Chalford Parish Council (and Bisley-with-Lypiatt Parish Council

  • That the boundary between Chalford (Bussage Ward) Parish Council and Bisley-with-Lypiatt (Eastcombe Ward) Parish Council be realigned to transfer some properties in Stonecote Ridge and Manor Farm

Eastington Parish Council (and Stonehouse Town Council)

  • The boundary between Eastington Parish and Stonehouse (Stonehouse Ward) Town Council is amended to transfer the area of Oldends Industrial Estate, east of Nastend to Stonehouse, as agreed by Stonehouse Town Council
  • The number of Parish Councillors is increased to ten

Hardwicke Parish Council (and Haresfield Parish Council)

  • A new parish of Hunts Grove to be established from 1 April 2020.
  • Hunts Grove Parish will return five councillors
  • Changes are made to Hardwicke and Haresfield Parish Council boundaries

Kingswood Parish Council (and Wotton-under-Edge Town Council)

  • The boundary between Kingswood and Wotton-under-Edge be realigned to split the parish ward of Wotton-under-Edge (South Ward) between Kingswood Parish Council and Wotton-under-Edge Town Council)
  • The number of Parish Councillors  for Kingswood is increased to eight

Minchinhampton Parish Council (and Nailsworth Town Council)

  • The boundary between Minchinhampton and Nailsworth be realigned to transfer the property of ‘Limecroft’ into Minchinhampton (Box Ward)

Randwick and Westrip Parish Council

  • Changes to the Parish warding arrangements:
    • Randwick Ward – 4 Councillors
    • Randwick South East Ward – 2 Councillors
    • Randwick South West Ward – 3 Councillors

Rodborough Parish Council

  • The boundary between Rodborough and Minchinhampton (Amberley Ward) is realigned to transfer 16 properties in Houndscroft to Minchinhampton (Amberley Ward)

Stonehouse Town Council (and Standish Parish Council)

  • The boundary between Stonehouse and Standish is amended to incorporate the extension to the recreation ground (the proportion of land that lies between the two railway lines)
  • Stonehouse (Ebley Ward) is transferred into Cainscross Parish Council (as above)
  • Boundary is realigned with Eastington Parish Council so the whole of Oldends Industrial Site is within Stonehouse Town boundary (as above)

Upton St Leonards Parish Council

  • A minor amendment between Upton St Leonards and Cranham parish boundary - transfer one property into Cranham Parish

The consultation will run until Monday, May 6, 2019. Residents and organisations are encouraged to respond to the consultation to comment on the changes, suggest alternatives, or support the proposals. We will then use this information to prepare our final recommendations which will be published in July 2019.

Anyone wishing to submit their views at this stage or wishing to obtain further information can do so on our website at

You can also submit your views in writing to or

Community Governance Review
Democratic Services and Elections
Stroud District Council
Ebley Mill
Ebley Wharf

News archive

Share this page