Skip to main content

UK Parliamentary General Election - Thursday 12 December 2019

UK General Parliamentary Election - Thursday 12 December 2019

A General Election is scheduled to take place on Thursday 12 December.
Click here for more information.

Key Deadlines to be able to vote are as follows:

Registration Deadline - Midnight on Tuesday 26 November 2019
Postal Vote Deadline - 5pm on Tuesday 26 November 2019
Proxy Vote Deadline - 5pm on Wednesday 4 December 2019

UK General Election, 12 December 2019

A UK General Election is taking place on Thursday 12 December 2019.

The Acting Returning Officer for the Stroud Constituency is Kathy O'Leary.

Electors in Kingswood, Minchinhampton and Wotton-under-Edge wards vote in The Cotswold Constituency. The Acting Returning Officer for The Cotswolds is Nigel Adams.

Link to Cotswold District Council web pages is here.


Register to vote

The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Tuesday 26 November. If you have not registered to vote before or have recently moved house, you can register to vote online at

Every registered voter will be sent a poll card around the 14 November with information about the election including the address of your polling station. If you have not received a poll card, or have recently moved, you may not be registered to vote.

If you are unsure whether you are registered, contact or call 01453 74886.


Who can vote

To vote at these elections, you must be aged 18 or over on election day and be a British, Irish or Commonwealth citizen. Your name must appear on the Register of Electors before you can vote.

Different ways to vote

There are three different ways to vote. You can vote by post, by using a proxy voter or in person at a polling station


Voting by post

The deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm on Tuesday 26 November.

Further information on postal voting and the postal vote application form can be found here.


Voting by proxy

Proxy voting means that if you aren't able to cast your vote in person, you can have someone you trust cast your vote for you. They must go to your polling station to cast your vote.

The deadline to apply to vote by proxy is 5pm on Wednesday 4 December.

If after 5pm on Wednesday 4 December you are unable to vote because you have a medical emergency, or learn you cannot go the polling station because of work reasons, you can apply to vote by emergency proxy. Please contact the elections office for the relevant form.

Further information on proxy voting and the proxy vote application form can be found here.


Voting in person at a polling station

If you are registered to vote, a poll card will be sent to you with further information about the election. You do not need to take the poll card with you to vote. Please check where your polling station is located as it may have changed since you last voted.

To find out where your polling station is please click here.

Polling stations are open between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 12 December 2019.


Election Count

The election count takes place on Thursday 12 December from 10pm at Stratford Park Leisure Centre. Members of the public are not able to attend the count. The result will be uploaded to the Election results page as soon as it has been declared.


Publish Notice of Election Friday 8 November 2019
Delivery of nomination papers
Withdrawal of Candidature
Notification of Appointment of Elections Agents
Between 10am-4pm on 11-14 November 2019
Publish Statement of Persons Nominated Thursday 14 November 2019 5pm
Publish Notice of Poll and situation stations Thursday 14 November 2019 5pm
Deadline for applications to be included in the register of electors to be used for the election Tuesday 26 November 2019
Deadline for new applications to vote by post or to change existing absent vote details (e.g. Cancellation or redirection of ballot papers) Tuesday 26 November 2019 5pm
Deadline for new applications to vote by proxy  Wednesday 4 December 5pm
Deadline for Appointment of Counting Agents and Polling Agents Thursday 5 December 2019
First day to request replacement postal votes Friday 6 December 2019
Deadline to issue replacement spoilt or lost postal ballot papers Thursday 12 December 2019 5pm
Polling day Thursday 12 December 7am - 10pm
Return of Election Expense Forms Friday 17 January 2020


Candidates and Agents

Candidates and agents can book an appointment for an informal check of their nomination papers between 10am and 4pm on 11 November to 14 November. Please email for more information.

Advice for candidates and agents.


Election notices

Notice of Election - Published Friday 8 November 2019


Working this election

If you are interested in getting involved in the democratic process we are always on the look out for poll clerks to work in the polling station across the district, this is a paid position. Please contact or call us on 01453 754887 for more information.

Share this page

We use cookies to improve user experience. If you continue, we will assume you are happy to accept cookies from this website. Continue